Top Ten Book-Related Problems

rippedpages

We all love books here, but even books are not without their problems. Delayed publication dates, e-reader mishaps, and pages ripped out of library books – I kind of feel like I’ve seen it all when it comes to book-related crimes.

This week, the folks behind The Broke and the Bookish asked us to list our top ten book-related problems, a topic that I can definitely get on board with.

So here goes….

Top Ten Book-Related Problems

1. The fact that rearranging my bulging bookshelves now rather resembles a giant, life-sized version of Tetrus.

2. The way that, no matter how much I promise myself that I won’t buy any more books, I somehow end up coming home with four books in a bag every time I leave the house.

3. Going to the library and borrowing a book, only to take it home and find that it’s got a suspicious browny-red stain over fifteen of the central pages.

4. That terrible feeling you have when you hear about an author dying and, instead of feeling sad that a human life has come to an end, all you can think is, ‘Damn! This means they won’t be writing any more books!’

5. Regretting the fact that you will never, no matter how hard you try, ever actually find the door to Narnia.

6. The weird shade of red my face goes every time someone casually says, ‘Oh, well, I don’t really like reading’. It’s like hearing somebody doesn’t like puppies.

7. The fact that because you’re doing an English degree, people somehow assume that you’ve READ ALL THE BOOKS. I’m sorry, friend, but while I love discussing my reading practices, I do not appreciate it when you find it funny that I haven’t read The Great and Obnoxious History of an Obscure Eighteenth-Century Politician That Nobody Cares About Any More. Also Ulysses.

8. Why, oh why, must Alexander McCall Smith keep publishing books? And, moreover –

9. Why do I not seem to be able to stop myself from buying them?!

10. Knowing that, no matter how hard you try, you will never, never be able to read ALL THE BOOKS. With so many amazing books from the past, plus the huge swathe of books published every single year, I can gaze at my ‘To-Read’ lists all I want, but I know that even if I were to spend every single waking hour with my nose in a book, there will always be another amazing book I’ll never, ever get to read.

You can find more Top Ten Tuesday here.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Book-Related Problems

  1. Yes, yes, yes! Loved your analogy to a Tetris game. Also, your “book related crimes” phrase. Having worked in a library, the stories I could tell (probably about that suspicious red stain in the middle of the book)!

    • Thank you! Wow, it must have been awesome to work in a library!

      I have noticed some libraries are better than others when it comes to stains… although I guess it’s probably the patrons rather than the libraries that are better. :D

  2. I’ve given up even promising myself I will cut down on book buying! My one bookish problem is my floor is going to collapse one day under the weight of them all and consequently destroy the kitchen underneath. :)

  3. I wholeheartedly agree with everything on your list! Perhaps I can add my own point…a true booklover and bookbuyer should never marry or live with ANOTHER true booklover and bookbuyer! :) We decorate with books!! :)

Leave a Reply

