Top Ten Authors Whose Books I Own

ShelvesIt’s no secret that I own a lot of books. My tiny Ikea bookshelf is crammed, and on most shelves the books are stacked in two rows, one in front of the other. And since this week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt from The Broke and the Bookish asks which author’s books appear on our shelves the most, I thought I’d do a little bit of a bookshelf review. One bookshelf-clutter-related accident later, I gave up on trying to catalogue every book I own, and set out with bandaged finger to find the authors who stood out to me the most.

Top Ten Authors Whose Books I Own

(This episode of Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by the Society For The Prevention Of Bookshelf-Related Accidents. Remember, kids: clutter can kill. Always rearrange your bookshelves with a buddy.)

  1. At 10 books, the most popular author on my shelves is Croatian writer Marija Jurić Zagorka. This is mostly because I own the entire ‘Witch of Grič’ (Grička Vještica) series, which I am planning to read in one great and exciting month after I finish my final semester at university.
  2. Number two is Jane Austen, clocking in at a whopping 8 books. This is because in addition to her novels, I also own her unfinished books, her letters, and her juvenilia.
  3. Next up is Charles Dickens. I own 5 of his books (although it’s actually more like 7, because some of the novels are two-volume ones).
  4. In a tie with Dickens is British writer Terry Pratchett; I have 5 of his books as well. His are the books I read and re-read; they always cheer me up and make me giggle.
  5. Charlotte Bronte appears on my shelves 4 times (5 if you count my second ‘college annotated’ copy of Jane Eyre).
  6. As does J.R.R. Tolkien; it’s easy to collect 4 of his books when you’ve got the entire Lord of the Rings collection, plus The Hobbit.
  7. I have 3 Elizabeth Gaskell books, including my old favourite, Cranford.
  8. I was surprised to find I only have 2 Mary Shelley books. Somehow I thought I had more – either way, Frankenstein will always have a place on my shelves.
  9. The more recent additions are the 2 Umberto Eco books I own. I’m very excited about The Book of Legendary Lands, something I’m also planning on enjoying after I finish this semester.
  10. There are many authors whose books I have 2 of, but the final one to catch my eye was Thomas Hardy. I haven’t made up my mind about this particular author, as I’ve yet to read Tess of the D’Urbervilles; sadly, I don’t think I’ll get to Hardy anytime soon.

So, there we have it. Which authors show up on your shelves most often? Do you, too, suffer from clutter-related accidents? Are your overstuffed bookshelves filled with as many perils as mine?

You can find more Top Ten Tuesday here.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors Whose Books I Own

  1. Austen and Brontë made my list as well! PS I’m so happy to find that someone else (other than myself) reworked the title of this week’s Top Ten. Leaving it the way they had listed it was giving me agita!

    • It’s one of those awkward titles; though you know exactly what it means and what you’re expected to do, the wording sounds very strange.

      I’m glad Austen and Bronte seem to be appearing on several lists. They’re definitely great books to have to hand. :)

Leave a Reply

