Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers I’d Frame as Art

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly prompt at The Broke and the Bookish. This time the theme is ‘Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art’. Now I’ll admit (a little shamefully) that I am a bit of a visual person, and I do tend to fall into the trap of judging a book by its cover. A lot. I know, it’s terrible. This week’s prompt, however, lets me indulge my shockingly bad habit, so I just couldn’t resist.

Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame as Pieces of Art

1. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. I’m a big fan of this style, showing only slices of the image instead of the whole thing:

Luminaries

2. An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine. Because I’m a sucker for the good old-fashioned silhouette:

unnecessary woman

3. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. The drawing on the cover is just beautiful:

snowchild

4. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly. The design is both beautiful and a little spooky. Just like much of the book:

bookoflostthings

5. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. Those reds and yellows really catch the eye:

ataleforthetimebeing

6. The Volcano Lover by Susan Sontag. I really like Penguin’s cover art, in particular the designs for their modern classics. They’re all gorgeous, but this is one of my favourites:

volcanolover

7. Of Love and Other Demons by Gabriel Garcí­a Marquez. (On a side note, one of my favourite titles of all) Speaking of Penguin covers, the stunning blue colour on this one just blew me away:

ofloveandotherdemons

8. Mrs Dalloway’s Party by Virginia Woolf. Vintage is another of my favourite publishers when it comes to cover art. It’s almost impossible to choose a favourite from their collection, but I love the photograph chosen here:

mrsdallowaysparty

9. The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope. Because I can’t resist those Vintage covers:

waywelivenow

10. And finally, because every lit major has to have this framed somewhere in their home… the iconic cover art to F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby:

greatgatsby

 

Is there any cover art you fell in love with at first sight?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Covers I’d Frame as Art

  1. I also love numbers #3 and #9, they’re simply gorgeous <3.

    My current favourite is not so much a book cover as a collection of them: both the Penguin Classics Clothbound and the new Penguin English Library have really beautiful cover arts.

  2. Pingback: SERIOUS and other important trivia… | Is it just me?

Leave a Reply

