Welcome to Majoring in Literature

Welcome, one and all, to Majoring in Literature! As you’ve probably already guessed, I am a literature major with a deep love of reading and far too much time on my hands. I am also currently one or all of the following:

a) Finishing a degree in literature
b) Panicking about my future as I have no qualifications apart from said degree in literature
c) Reading more than two books at once
d) Living in Australia
e) A girl

I have what might charitably be called an ‘eclectic’ taste in books; I read across many genres and time periods, but I’ve yet to settle on a favourite. I also have a rather unhealthy book-buying habit. When I was younger I used to read every book I owned before I would even consider buying a new one. But these days I find my self-control is a lot weaker. Not to mention that I’m no longer plagued by the problem of saving up all my pocket money dollar by dollar. As a result, I have dozens of unread books that I’ve picked up from bookstores, second-hand book sales, and Christmases past, present and future.

But if there’s one thing I love more than buying books, it’s talking about them. And since I still have a full three months before I head back to university and the patient ears of my fellow literature students, I’ve decided the best solution is to share my thoughts in blog form. Partly because I need a new hobby, and partly because I don’t know how much longer my long-suffering parents and siblings can listen to me ranting about my latest read before they stuff my mouth full of cotton wool and lock me in the cellar to await the first day of semester.

So here’s what I’d like to do with this blog:

1) Share reviews of the books I’m reading
2) Finally get through all the books on my To-Read shelf
3) Find out what others think about the books I’m reading (have I got it completely wrong? I really want to know)
4) Expand my reading tastes and experiment with some new genres
5) Gain the ability to boast about the fact that I have finally grasped twenty-first century media
6) Make lots of numbered lists (because I really like making lists)

Thank you for stopping by. I hope you’ll find something here to interest, amuse, or even just divert you. I love feedback, so don’t be afraid to leave a comment or send me a message.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Majoring in Literature

  1. Welcome to WordPress!
    I hope you have fun on here. Looking forward to catching your later entries. :)

    Good luck with getting through your list! (Also…I love lists as well.)
    :D

Leave a Reply

